skip to main content

California College Systems

There are four main California systems of education you can attend after high school.  Depending on your goals, you may select one over the other.  The four main systems are:
  1. The California State University (CSU)
  2. The University of California (UC)
  3. Private Universities
  4. Community College

The CSU and UC Systems

Each system has its own set of requirements for admission.  The common admission requirements are: 
Each university in the CSU and UC system will have different standards in who they will accept.  They will base their acceptance of applicants on an Eligibility Index.

California State University

The California State University system is a leader in high-quality, accessible, student-focused higher education.With 23 campuses, almost 447,000 students, and 45,000 faculty and staff, the CSU system is one of the largest, most diverse, and affordable university systems in the country.

University of California

The University of California is a part of California's three-tier public higher education system, which also includes the California State University system and the California Community College System.  The UC system has 10 campuses. Today, the UC system includes more than 233,000 students and more than 190,000 faculty and staff, with more than 1.7 million alumni living and working around the world.  You can explore the University of California system's website at:

California Community College

The California Community Colleges is the largest system of higher education in the nation, with 2.1 million students attending 112 colleges.  Community colleges offer a wide range of educational offerings and many students attend community college as a transfer pathway to a CSU or UC, for workforce and career training, and to complete a certificate or degree program.

Are you a student, parent, or community member? Keep in touch with us: